Monday, April 10, 2006

How Would You Play This Hand?

OK. It's time for everybody's favorite topic, how would you play this hand! This is not a hand of mine, but rather a friend who asked for my input on it. I already told him how I would've played it, and now I'm asking for the 2 or 3 of you that actually read this pathetic blog to tell me how you'd do it.

You are at Level 2 in a 9 player SNG (15/30). You are down to 7 handed, and you have 1500 in chips. Everyone else is around 1450, except the big stack who had 5900. You are in teh BB, and are dealt 5s 9s. MP, button, and SB all call, and you check. Flop comes down 8d 7d 6h, giving you a straight. SB checks, and you throw out a bet of 150 into a pot of 120. MP and button fold, and SB raises the bet up to 450. You call the 300. Turn brings the 6c. SB bets 600. What do you do?

Think about this, and come up with your thoughts. Then read this hand description.

It's Level 5 (75/150) in a 9 player SNG, and you're 6 handed. You've got 1170 in chips, and there's only one stack smaller than you. Big stack is at 3300. You are on the button and are dealt As 4d. UTG, EP, and LP fold to you. You raise it to 300 to go. SB calls and BB folds. Flop is 2d 5h 3d, giving you the wheel. SB bets out 150, and you raise it up 300 to 450. SB calls. Turn is 2s, and SB bets out 600. You call for your last 420, and the SB flips over Qs 3h, for 2 pair. River is the 3c, giving the villain a boat and cracking your straight and busting you out of the tourney.

Now, assume you went straight from this SNG to the one described earlier. Would you have played the hand I first described any differently, given what happened in this hand? Let me know.

6 comments:

Klopzi said...

Hand #1: 95s vs ??

Level 2? First off, I overbet the pot. My straight is crap, there's a flush draw that many players will not fold, so an overbet is likely to get called by a person on a draw or you'll pick up the pot. Either way, it's all good.

When SB check raises to 450, I'm pushing. He's not going to check-raise a straight. Most likely, he's sitting there with top pair or a very strong draw. I think calling in this spot is a mistake.

Hand #2: A4 vs. Q3

First off, I'm more likely to push or fold here. My M is 5 and I don't want to play a crappy hand like A4. However, when I flop the straight, I need to slowplay this time. I'm up against one opponent and I need to get paid. I don't see anything wrong with how this hand was played as shown.
When the villain calls your all-in with a pair of threes and hits his two-outer on the river, just tag him and leave knowing that you played well.

Should the results of hand #2 affect my thinking for #1? Nope. Lose enough money and results-oriented thinking never even comes into the picture.

Nick Christy said...

First hand,

Tough hand. He very likely could have 910 and have you beat. He very likely could be a fish and be on a flush draw. Maybe he has A9. I am not concerned about the boat, because if he had the boat he would more then likely be playing it a lot slower. He would want you to catch the flush you might be fishing for. If he has a boat he has to put you on a straight, and if that is the case why isnt he just putting all his chips in the middle of the pot? I think I push all in instead of calling. If he has 910, so be it. I think he probably has two big hearts, or A9/similiar.

Second hand,

Tough beat, but you can not let it change your play. You got your money in with the best hand. He hit a four outer to beat you, you will win that hand most of the time. If you are concerned about boats you will lay down a lot of winable hands.

StB said...

First hand. You have to push. Calling is not an option as you only have 400 left and that will certainly go in on the river. What hand is he going to have in the SB that will make that 6 very meaningful? 6 6? 6 7? 5 6?

Nothing you can do if he flop the nut straight here except fold to his re-raise on the flop but you have already committed yourself.

Matt Silverthorn said...

Yes, both of these hands should have been pushed as opposed to calling and letting the opponent draw. I also agree that the results of one hand should not affect the way you play the next one. If you made the right decision, that's the best you can do.

iamhoff said...

Thanks for all of your comments. Regarding the 2nd posted hand (which happened 1st, chronologically), my friend should have pushed on the flop instead of just raising to 450. But given the board, the only cards that could've beaten him at that point were a 46, so I'm not so down on him for not pushing. And as Klopzi and Nick noted, he did get all in with the best hand.

The reason for my comment about playing the 1st hand differently given the 2nd one was more to be instructional for my friend. The same pattern emerged by the turn. He had a straight, but the best hand that could've been made from the board was a boat. From that, I was trying to instruct him to push after the SB's check raise (as you all correctly noted). Matt's right, you shouldn't be results-driven in your hand judgement. By pointing out the error in not pushing on the earlier hand, I'm hoping that my friend would understand the need to push in those situations.

As it happened, my friend called the 600 on the turn. The 6s fell on the river, for a board of 8d 7d 6h 6c 6s. SB pushes and my friend goes all in to call. Villan flips over 4h 7h for a patented Riverstars boat. So he check-raised on the flop with middle pair, a lower straight draw, and a runner-runner flush draw. He then bet 600 into a 1000 pot with 2 pair on the turn, and my friend let him go to the river and make his boat of 6s full of 7s.

So 2 SNGs back to back, and busted out of both when a straight got cracked by a river boat. The really sad part, I got another email from him. Last night he played in another SNG. He got dealt snowmen at Level 4 (50/100). He and one other player call the blinds. Flop is 9c 7h Ts. He bets out a pot sized bet of 300 and gets called. Turn is Js, giving him a straight. He bets 300 into a pot of 900, and gets called. River is the Jc. He checks and villain goes all in. My friend has him covered 3 to 1 and calls. Villain flips over J9h for a boat, cracking my friend's straight for a 3rd time.

Ain't life a bitch?

HighOnPoker said...

In the first hand, I'd suggest folding. Here's the thing. The spot to push is after being re-raised to 450. You either fold or push there, bottom line. By calling, you now have committed more money AND the next card might be a scared card that will make you fold anyway. Either push or fold. Here, I'd fold as its still early and post-flop, you don't even want to call if he has a flush draw ONLY. By the turn, he may have a full house too, so you've got to fold when he pushes.

As for hand 2, you shouldn't have been raising preflop in the first place. You need to fold that Ace OR go all-in, because you have less than 10x the BB. If you went all in, you'd probably win the blinds which are substantial already. If you fold, then you don't get into this mess.

If I was in this situation and then had the first hand again, I have no idea how it would effect me, but I'd hope that I'd make the same play. Don't let the suckout scare you.